RSS Feed

Kicking those old habits… and Implementing new ones

       After reading a few of the blogs that I follow I have found some really great other ideas for goals to focus on throughout 2012. Money Saving Mom (who is absolutely amazing, definitely a huge role model for scatterbrain moms like myself!!!!) has posted that she will try to implement a new habit every month this year, and states that she will focus on ONE habit at a time. These do not have to be huge things, she started with  waking up early every day for 21 days. Ironic, because just last night I said to myself that I wanted to start waking up an hour (ish) earlier than my son. So I think that’s the first thing that I will start off with too. The extra hour a day to get things done will make a HUGE difference!!
Money Saving Mom stated:: ” I’m three days in and already dragging, but I know that it takes awhile to “reset” my clock again. So I’m pushing through the tiredness, making early bedtime a priority, and not allowing myself to find an excuse for sleeping in in the morning, even when my warm bed feels so nice. ”  This will be SO hard for me! I’ve never been a morning person, but I’m going to give it a shot.
I decided to take it one step further and also KICK an old habit of mine. I’ve decided to focus on my nail biting. I know it’s a gross habit, but I’ve been doing it ever since I was little (when my mom would tell me she was going to buy the spray you put on your fingers to make them taste bad so you don’t bite them!) Now, at 23… I wish she had bought it!! I hate the way my fingers look, and always have… so I’ve decided that this will be the first thing I try giving up!
Many people enter the new year with all these GREAT expectations, they’re going to This and That and Everything else you can possibly imagine. But that’s just impractical… focus on ONE thing at a time and give it your all. Whether you’re trying to pick up a new habit or kick another… they’re called habits becuase you’re body has had so much practice doing them they’re almost a reflex. How do you expect to kick or pick up a habit if you’re not giving it your total attention???
If you decide this is something you would be interested in definitely read Money Saving Mom’s guidelines to organizing your life and becoming more disciplined, she has so much great info to offer!!

 

COOPONMOMMYONFACEBOOK

About cooponmommy

After watching 1 Extreme Couponing Show I was HOOKED! Now I've turned into a saving machine, and I can't stop!

Leave a Reply

